Seattle Job Search

I have been in Seattle for nearly a month now, and am still looking for work. While I haven’t yet found a job, I did locate an apartment close to Ravenna Park, north of the University of Washington campus. It feels as if I am on an invisible line between the city and a residential area.

My days are filled with the dreary toil of trying to find a job. As you know, my 20+ year background is teaching business courses to MBA and undergrad students, but the funding situation at most institutions looks less than fertile, and more like a parking lot with a few weeds growing up out of the cracks. Because of this, I’m looking for opportunities in a corporate setting. I’ll even wear a suit again, if I have to.

One of the big reasons for returning to the Pacific Northwest, besides the pleasantly cool weather, is that, after living here for about 25 years, I have a ton of friends in the area, including former students. They are helping me to look for work, sending me ideas, suggestions, names of people and companies, and generally being nice as heck to me. I am indeed lucky for all the good friends I have.

My resume — the real one can be found on this site — is shooting all over town, and must be a tricky one to handle for the job search organizations. Nowadays humans don’t look at resumes; rather, computer eyeballs peruse your electronic document, and like a prospector panning for gold, the software sifts out the good stuff. After this is done, most of your resume is flushed down the drain, leaving only a few key words and phrases, which are then spooned into a small dish. The contents of this dish is then compared to the key words and phrases on a bigger dish labeled, “What We Want”. Presumably, if my dish matches — and who knows what “matches” means in this context — the large dish, then I would be notified of my rosy, future life.

The results so far have not suggested much of a floral scenario. You can tell that these job search firms have been trying. They have sent me excited, optimistic emails: “Boy do we have great news for you!” and “Wait until you see what we found for you!” But then I open the message and see that I have been selected for: a circus acrobat, an aircraft mechanic, a make-up counter consultant, and a senior environmental engineer specializing in llama farms. Apparently they have not even looked at my resume, or else they did look at it, found it to be hopeless, and then just started sending me random job announcements.

It doesn’t exactly fill a guy with hope.

Partly as a treat, and partly to do some personal networking, I have gone up to ‘Beautiful Bellingham‘ a few times. Bellingham is a small college town where I lived and taught, and where most of my old friends are. It’s about an hour and a half north of Seattle, and it lies on a bay, trying for all its might to look like a miniature San Francisco. My favorite part of town is Fairhaven, home to a plethora of pubs, book stores, coffee joints, and more weird characters than a small town has a right to. I love it there, and if given the kind of small fortune described in the first sentence of “Pride and Prejudice” would spend much of my time sipping espresso at a sidewalk cafe, reading.

Two of my visits to Bellingham this past month were to play in golf tournaments organized by people at the school where I taught, Western Washington University. The one held last week was a team event, and our team won! Good clean fun, and only moderate drinking was involved…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

